Raising Awareness on Capitol Hill 

A challenge in conquering arthritis is awareness. An active Congressional Arthritis Caucus helps teach everyone on the Hill about the toll arthritis takes on us all. 

Raising Awareness with the Congressional Arthritis Caucus 

The mission of the Congressional Arthritis Caucus is to serve as a clearinghouse for information on arthritis and a bipartisan forum to aid Members of Congress in working together to address arthritis. The Caucus works toward the goal of educating all Members about how arthritis impacts their communities and how to help support federal and local efforts that can address this chronic disease.

Why is the Congressional Arthritis Caucus Important?

This results in an annual $303 billion price tag from direct (medical) and indirect (lost earnings) costs. 

This number is expected to climb to 78 million by 2040.  

According to the CDC, 1 in 20 working-age adults must change jobs, stop working entirely, or reduce the hours they work due to arthritis. 

47% of adults with diabetes, 49% of people with heart disease, and 30% of obese adults also have arthritis. 

The prevelance of arthritis is lower, but the impact is greater. 44.6% of non-Hispanic Blacks and 43.2% of Hispanics with arthritis report activity limitation. 

20 percent of the population in all 50 states has arthritis and only 13 states are receiving funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Who serves on the Congressional Arthritis Caucus? 

Don Young (R-AK) 
Mo Brooks (R-AL) 
Ruben Gallego (D-AZ) 
Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) 
Anna Eshoo (D-CA) 
Julia Brownley (D-CA) 
Tony Cardenas (D-CA) 
Susan Davis (D-CA) 
Jared Huffman (D-CA) 
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA) 
Salud Carbajal (D-CA) 
Doris Matsui (D-CA) 
Jerry McNerney (D-CA) 
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA) 
Raul Ruiz (D-CA) 
Linda Sanchez (D-CA) 
Adam Schiff (D-CA) 
Brad Sherman (D-CA) 
Eric Swalwell (D-CA) 
Norma Torres (D-CA) 
Maxine Waters (D-CA) 
Joe Courtney (D-CT) 
John Larson (D-CT) 
Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) 
Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE) 
Brian Mast (R-FL) 
Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) 
Alcee Hastings (D-FL) 
Ted Yoho (R-FL) 
Frederica Wilson (D-FL) 
Buddy Carter (R-GA)  
Rob Woodall (R-GA) 
Hank Johnson (D-GA) 
Steve King (R-IA) 
David Loebsack (D-IA) 
Cheri Bustos (D-IL) 
Danny Davis (D-IL) 
Jan Schakowsky (D-IL) 
Larry Bucshon (R-IN) 
Andy Barr (R-KY) 
Brett Guthrie (R-KY) 
Hal Rogers (R-KY) 
John Yarmuth (D-KY) 
Bill Keating (D-MA) 
Joe Kennedy (D-MA) 
Stephen Lynch (D-MA) 
Seth Moulton (D-MA) 
Jamie Raskin (D-MD) 
Debbie Dingell (D-MI) 
Brenda Lawrence (D-MI) 
Collin Peterson (D-MN) 
Betty McCollum (D-MN) 
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) 
Vicky Hartzler (R-MO) 
Patrick McHenry (R-NC) 
David Price (D-NC) 
Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH) 
Donald Norcross (D-NJ) 
Bill Pascrell (D-NJ) 
Frank Pallone (D-NJ) 
Donald Milford Payne (D-NJ) 
Eliot Engel (D-NY)] 
Peter King (R-NY) 
Nita Lowey (D-NY) 
Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY) 
Gregory Meeks (D-NY) 
Jose Serrano (D-NY) 
Lee Zeldin (R-NY) 
Joyce Beatty (D-OH) 
Steve Chabot (R-OH) 
David Joyce (R-OH) 
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) 
Tim Ryan (D-OH) 
Steve Stivers (R-OH) 
Michael Turner (R-OH) 
Brad Wenstrup (R-OH) 
Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR) 
Peter DeFazio (D-OR) 
Greg Walden (R-OR) 
Mike Doyle (D-PA) 
Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) 
Jim Langevin (D-RI) 
Joe Wilson (R-SC) 
Scott DesJarlais (R-TN) 
Jim Cooper (D-TN) 
Michael Burgess (R-TX) 
Mike Conaway (R-TX) 
Lloyd Doggett (D-TX) 
Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX) 
Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) 
Kenny Marchant (R-TX) 
Filemon Vela (D-TX) 
Rob Bishop (R-UT) 
Chris Stewart (R-UT) 
Donald Beyer (D-VA) 
Gerry Connolly (D-VA) 
Stacey Plaskett (D-VI) 

Suzan DelBene (D-WA) 
Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA) 
Derek Kilmer (D-WA) 
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) 
Adam Smith (D-WA) 
Ron Kind (D-WI) 
Mark Pocan (D-WI) 
David McKinley (R-WV) 
Alex Mooney (R-WV) 


John Boozman (R-AR) 
Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) 
Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) 
Michael Bennet (D-CO) 
Chris Murphy (D-CT) 
Tom Carper (D-DE) 
Chris Coons (D-DE) 
Jim Risch (R-ID) 
Todd Young (R-IN) 
Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) 
Angus King (I-ME) 
Jon Tester (D-MT) 
Kevin Cramer (R-ND) 
Deb Fischer (R-NE) 
Chuck Schumer (D-NY) 
Sherrod Brown (D-OH) 
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) 
John Thune (R-SD) 
Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) 
Maria Cantwell (D-WA) 
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) 
Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) 
John Barrasso (R-WY) 

Advocate for What's Right

As an Arthritis Advocate, you’ll feel good about taking action to make health care more accessible. Help shift the policy and public perception that affects those living with arthritis.

Sign Up