2017 Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee Members


Rowland "Bing" Chang (Acting Chair) - Arthritis Foundation National Board Chair; Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Louis Bridges - University of Alabama School of Medicine

Andrew Chan - Genentech, Inc.

Norman Ilowite - Montefiore Medical Center

Randeep Kahlon - Arthritis Foundation National Board; First State Orthopaedics

Martin Lotz - Scripps Research Institute

Walter Smith - Confluence Life Sciences, Inc.

Daniel Solomon - Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Rocky Tuan - University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Other Experts:

Leigh Callahan - Osteoarthritis Action Alliance (OAAA); University of North Carolina

Guy Eakin - Arthritis Foundation Senior VP Scientific Strategy

Robert Fuhlbrigge - Childhood Arthritis and Rheumatology Research Alliance (CARRA); Children's Hospital Colorado

Virginia Kraus - Osteoarthritis Research Society International (OARSI); Duke University School of Medicine

Study Could Revolutionize Treatment for Osteoarthritis

By studying anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) tears in the knee, a major risk factor for developing osteoarthritis, scientists seek to discover tools and treatments to detect and reverse OA before symptoms ever appear. Read more about this study.

Public-Private Partnerships

Current Scientific Discovery Awardees

Review a list of all our funded scientists with their institutions and project titles.