Physicians Specialist List

Download the current physicians list for the entire Upper Midwest Region (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin). 

As a public service, the Arthritis Founation Upper Midwest Region is pleased to make this list available to aid persons who wish to seek the assistance of a doctor specializing in the diagnosis or treatment of arthritis.

The physicians included on this list have advised us that they are licensed physicians under state law and satisfy the criteria listed below, which we have established as a requirement for inclusion on this list. We are not able to evaluate the professional qualifications and competence of individual physicians included on this list. Inclusion of a particular physician on this list should not be interpreted as a representation by us concerning that physician’s competence or qualifications.

This list includes specialists in arthritis, called rheumatologists. Rheumatologists are doctors who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of arthritis and related disorders of joints, muscles and bones. Physicians in this specialty are first board certified (have passed an exam) in such areas as internal medicine or pediatrics, and then completed additional training in the diagnosis and treatment of arthritis. Some physicians may also have passed another specialty exam in rheumatology and be board certified in rheumatology or pediatric rheumatology.

Many other types of physicians can diagnose and treat arthritis, including those board certified in family practice, internal medicine, physical medicine, and rehabilitation (physiatrists), pediatric and orthopedic surgeons. Physicians who are board certified have passed a special examination in their specialty.


Physicians included on this list have attested that they meet at least one of the following criteria:

1. Board certified in rheumatology

Board certified specialists in rheumatology have completed training in an accredited training program for rheumatology and passed a special exam.

2. Completed an accredited training program in rheumatology

Physicians who have completed training programs in rheumatology accredited by certain professional groups may be included on this list.

3. Completed training before certification

Physicians who have completed training programs in rheumatology before certification was available. Physicians in this category have at least five years of experience in rheumatology.

Because appointment schedules of these physicians are at times full, it may not be possible for you to obtain an immediate appointment. This should be discussed when you contact the physician. We suggest that you discuss the question of fees when you call to make an appointment. Persons eligible for Medical Assistance (Title 19) or Medicare should determine acceptability of coverage from the individual physician.

Nebo Content Management System Tracking