2014 Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research

Call for Nominations



 Download Guidelines

Award Description

The Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research recognizes contributions during the previous year that have significantly advanced the understanding, treatment or prevention of arthritis and related diseases. It is a fitting memorial tribute to Lee C. Howley Sr., former chairman of Revco D.S., Inc., who was instrumental in the establishment of the Revco Arthritis Research Center at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. 

The Arthritis Foundation extends its gratitude to the Howley family on behalf of the estimated 50 million Americans who have arthritis for making the Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Research in Arthritis possible. The recognition that this program offers for excellence in arthritis research will ensure that the search will continue for cures to the more than 100 forms of arthritis and related diseases. The Howley family's expression of commitment offers hope that one day the problems of arthritis will be solved.

The recipient of the 2013 Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research is Bruce N. Cronstein, MD, Paul R. Esserman Professor of Medicine at  New York University School of Medicine. Dr. Cronstein’s pioneering research has been responsible for driving new understanding of the basis of inflammation in arthritis, as well as other diseases. He has been recognized, encouraged and supported over the past 25 years by investigator   awards, grants and other support from the National Institutes of Health, the pharmaceutical industry and the Arthritis Foundation. Dr. Cronstein holds multiple patents and patents pending, is chair of multiple research boards and committees, and serves as a mentor to many members of the next generation of rheumatology leaders.



Previous Recipients

View Past Recipients 

George C. Tsokos, MD, Alisa Erika Koch, MD, Andrew D. Luster, MD, PhD, Wayne M. Yokoyama, MD, John O’Shea, MD, Gerard Karsenty, MD, PhD Michel Nussenzweig, MD, PhD, Gary Koretzky, MD, David Wofsy, MD, Gary Firestein, MD, Chella David, PhD, David Felson, MD, MPH, Jeffrey Ravetch, MD, David V. Goeddel, PhD, Betty Diamond, MD, Peter Lipsky, MD, David S. Pisetsky, MD, PhD, Daniel Kastner, MD, PhD, Morris Reichlin, MD, Matthew H. Liang, MD, MPH, William P. Arend, MD, Arthur Weiss, MD, PhD, Michael B. Brenner, MD, Laurie H. Glimcher, MD, Barton F. Haynes, MD, K. Frank Austen, MD, Allen C. Steere, MD, Darwin J. Prockop, MD, PhD, John P. Atkinson, MD, Douglas T. Fearon, MD, Robert J. Winchester, MD, Eng M. Tan, MD, Mart Mannik, MD, Dennis A. Carson, MD, Hugh O. McDevitt, MD, C. William Castor, MD, Joan A. Steitz, PhD, Michael Lerner, MD, PhD, John A. Hardin, MD.


The purpose of this award is to recognize team science in action that will lead to a faster cure for arthritis and related diseases.

Sponsoring Organization

An award of $10,000 will be presented by the Arthritis Foundation. Support is provided by a generous endowment by the Howley Family. Award recipients must apply the award funds toward the field of arthritis research (e.g., travel to a professional meeting to present findings, mentoring a student, laboratory costs, or publication costs). 


This award is for the best original research conducted in the U.S. by an interdisciplinary team that was published in a peer-reviewed journal. The date of the publication must be between July 1, 2013 and July 1, 2014. The nominator may not be an author or co-author of the nominated paper.       

Evaluation Criteria

Nominated publications will be evaluated based on the following criteria: 

Significance (25%)

The research is in alignment with the mission of the Arthritis Foundation to improve lives through leadership in the prevention, control and cure of arthritis and related diseases.  

 Innovation (25%)

The research challenges existing paradigms and presents an innovative hypothesis and/or addresses a research gap, accelerates translational research, removes barriers and/or catalyzes the development of the field of arthritis and related diseases. The   research develops or employs novel concepts, approaches, methods, tools, and/or technologies. 

 Approach (25%) 

The purpose of the research should be clearly stated. The research rationale, methods, results, and implications must be presented in a logical manner. Conclusions must be grounded in the results.

 Interdisciplinary Team   (25%) 

The research accomplishes a specific scientific goal that otherwise would not be realized by any single component of the team.

Instructions for Submitting Nominations 

All nominations must be submitted via email to research@arthritis.org and include the following:  

  • A single nomination letter describing in one page or less why the published research meets the Evaluation Criteria listed above (significance, innovation, approach, and interdisciplinary team) 
  • A PDF of the publication   

Award Procedure

All nominations will be reviewed by an expert committee using the Evaluation Criteria to select the publication. The award will be presented at the Arthritis Foundation’s Annual Meeting during the Evening of Honors dinner on Friday, November 21, 2014, in Atlanta, Georgia. Travel support to the meeting will be provided for a maximum of two members of the award winning research team.                           



Nebo Content Management System Tracking