Press Center

Arthritis Foundation Bestows Highest National Awards

December 02, 2013

The Arthritis Foundation bestowed its highest nationwide honors to several deserving recipients during its national meeting Nov. 21-23 in Nashville, Tenn. The honorees are as follows:

Charles B. Harding Award for Distinguished Service

Cecile K. Perich was honored with the Arthritis Foundation’s highest nationwide volunteer award, the Charles B. Harding Award for Distinguished Service. This annual award recognizes a volunteer who has provided leadership and direction to the Arthritis Foundation, given their time and talent generously to help others, and challenged other Foundation volunteers to be their best. Perich has served the Arthritis Foundation in various volunteer capacities for more than 17 years, including chair of the board of directors and most recently director emeritus.

Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research

Bruce N. Cronstein, MD, professor of medicine at New York University School of Medicine, was named the 2013 winner of the Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Arthritis Research. Dr. Cronstein’s pioneering research has been responsible for driving new understanding of the basis of inflammation in arthritis, as well as other diseases.

Arthritis Foundation Award for Innovative Philanthropy

Jeffrey R. Brashares, DLP, is the recipient of the 2013 Arthritis Foundation Award for Innovative Philanthropy for his extraordinary contribution to innovation and transformation of the Foundation’s mission and services. For the past 30 years, Brashares has chaired the Arthritis Foundation’s Classic Auto Show & Cruise-In event, raising $1.7 million over the past seven years alone.

The Floyd B. Odlum Making a Difference Award

Bristol-Myers Squibb received the Floyd B. Odlum Making a Difference Award. The award recognizes major contributions and achievements that have advanced the mission of the Arthritis Foundation and honors an individual, organization, corporation or government agency that has helped to make a difference in the lives of people and families with arthritis. Bristol-Myers Squibb has worked in close collaboration with the Arthritis Foundation to launch and support the Let's Talk RA educational program, which has helped more than 95,000 rheumatoid arthritis patients better communicate with their physicians since the program's inception in 2006.

Clifford M. Clarke Award for Outstanding Leadership

Amy Daugherty, chief development officer of the Arthritis Foundation Pacific Region,was presented the Clifford M. Clarke Award for Outstanding Leadership. This award is presented to a current Foundation staff member who demonstrates exceptional leadership resulting in significant and consistent progress in accomplishing the organization’s mission.

2013 Volunteer Award Winners:

  • Emerging Leader in Advocacy Award: Katherine Herrmann, Great Lakes Region
  • Edward M. Kennedy Advocacy Leadership Award: Amy Barron, Great Lakes Region
  • National Public Health Partnership Award: National Recreation and Park Association
  • Regional Public Health Partnership Award: University of PittsburghCommunity Service Award: Donna Adler, Pacific Region
  • Lorraine Potocki Arthritis Walk Award: Richard Swaine, Great Lakes Region
  • Jingle Bell Run/Walk Spirit Award: Kristin Burke, Pacific Region
  • Gala Excellence Award: Deborah Snyder, Pacific Region
  • Major Gift Leadership Award: Jonathan Lee MD, Northeast Region

About the Arthritis Foundation

Striking one in every five adults and 300,000 children, arthritis is the nation’s leading cause of disability. The Arthritis Foundation ( is committed to raising awareness and reducing the unacceptable impact of this serious and painful disease, which can severely damage joints and rob people of living life to its fullest. The Foundation funds life-changing research that has restored mobility in patients for more than six decades; fights for health care policies that improve the lives of the millions who live with arthritis; and partners with families to provide empowering programs and information.



Nebo Content Management System Tracking