Bicameral Congressional Arthritis Caucus

  • Because arthritis is our nation’s leading cause of disability, resulting in an annual $128 billion price tag from direct (medical) and indirect (lost earnings) costs.
  • Because more than 50 million Americans have arthritis now, and that number is expected to climb to 67 million within 20 years.
  • Because, according to the CDC, 1 in 20 working age adults have to change jobs, stop working entirely, or reduce the hours they work due to arthritis.
  • Because arthritis pain is a barrier to the treatment of other chronic diseases. 52% of adults with diabetes also have arthritis.  Among this population, 29.8% report physical inactivity compared to 21% of those with diabetes alone.
  • Because the impact of arthritis is worse on racial and ethnic minority groups.  44.6% of Non-Hispanic Blacks and 43.2% of Hispanics with arthritis report activity limitation.
  • Because together we can fight to end arthritis.

How Your Members of Congress Can Take Action

The mission of the Bicameral Congressional Arthritis Caucus, chaired by Representative Anna G, Eshoo (D-CA) and David B. McKinley (R-WV)), is to serve as a clearinghouse for information on arthritis and a bipartisan forum to aid Members of Congress in working together to address arthritis. The Caucus will strive to raise awareness about arthritis and work toward the goal of educating all Members about how arthritis impacts their communities and how to help support federal and local efforts addressing arthritis in all its forms. 

How Your Members of Congress Can Take Action:

  • The Arthritis Foundation urges Members of Congress to join the Congressional Arthritis Caucus and unite in the fight against arthritis. For more information about this group or to join, please contact the office of Representative Eshoo or Representative McKinley at the US Capitol switchboard 202-224-3124.


113th Congress Arthritis Caucus Members

Rep. Don Young (R-AK-At Large)

Rep. Rob Andrews (D-NJ-01)

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL-05)

Rep. Bill Pascrell (D-NJ-09)

Rep. Spencer Bachus (R-AL-06)

Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ-11)

Rep. Tim Griffin (R-AR-02)

Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ-12)

Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ-03)

Rep. Tim Bishop (D-NY-01)

Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA-09)

Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY-03)

Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA-18)

Rep. Peter King (R-NY-02)

Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA-19)

Sen. Charles Schumer (D-NY)

Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA-24)

Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY-15)

Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA-30)

Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY-17)

Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA-33)

Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH-01)

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA-40)

Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH-15)

Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA-46)

Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA-14)

Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA-53)

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Rep. James Langevin (D-RI-02)

Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT-02)

Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC-02)

Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Rep. Kristi Noem (R-SD-At Large)

Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL-15)

Sen. John Thune (R-SD)

Rep. John Barrow (D-GA-12)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN-07)

Rep. David Loebsack (D-IA-02)

Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-TN-08)

Rep. Tom Latham (R-IA-03)

Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX-35)

Sen. James Risch (R-ID)

Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA-11)

Rep. Aaron Schock (R-IL-18)

Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Rep. Kevin Yoder (R-KS-03)

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA-03)

Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS-04)

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-05)

Rep. John Yarmuth (R-KY-03)

Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA-07)

Rep. Harold Rogers (R-KY-05)

Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA-08)

Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA-07)

Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA-09)

Rep. Bill Keating (D-MA-09)

Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI-10)

Rep. Tom Petri (R-WI-06)

Rep. Tim Walz (D-MN-01)

Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV-02)

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO-03)

Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY-At Large)

Rep. David Price (D-NC-04)

Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)



last updated April 2014

How You Can Take Action on This Issue:

Nebo Content Management System Tracking